MPP for Algoma – Manitoulin

MPP for Algoma—Manitoulin

Michael Manthra
Phone: (416) 325-1938
Email: [email protected]

Riding Profile:

This northern Ontario riding spreads the smallest population in a provincial riding over the third largest land area.

It stretches from Manitoulin Island in the south to north of Manitouwadge and Hornepayne, and from Lake Superior in west to the Nickel Belt and Sudbury ridings in east. It also includes the outer fringes of Sault Ste. Marie, as well as vast tracts in which timber and mining are the main industries.

The riding’s economic base is rooted in manufacturing, pulp and paper, and mining, including uranium. Elliot Lake, the uranium centre, is the largest single urban centre.

There are several native reserves in the riding and the aboriginal population is the third highest in the province, according to the 1996 census.

The riding was created prior to the 1999 general election through the amalgamation of the former ridings of Algoma and Algoma-Manitoulin, plus parts of the Nickel Belt and Lake Nipigon ridings.

Population: 74,828 (2011 census; a decrease of 4% since 2006)

Political History:

In 2011, Liberal Michael Brown lost the seat he had held since 1987 to New Democrat Michael Mantha, who captured more than 44% of the vote.

In the old riding of Algoma-Manitoulin, PC candidate John Lane won elections in 1971, 1975, 1977, 1981 and 1985. Lane didn’t run in the 1987 election when the riding became Liberal again.

In the old riding of Algoma, PC candidate Bernt Gilbertson won elections in 1967 and 1971. He was defeated in 1975 by NDP candidate Bud Wildman, who won every successive election until his retirement in 1998.

Region MPP

Courtesy – Of Region

2014 Provincial Election Results:

Party Candidate Total votes %
NDP Michael Mantha 14,172 53.36
LIB Craig Hughson 6,504 24.49
PC Jib Turner 4,589 17.28
GRN Alexandra Zalucky 828 3.12
LTN Richard Hadidian 464 1.75

2011 Provincial Election Results:

Party Candidate Total votes %
NDP Michael Mantha 11,560 44.45
LIB Mike Brown 7,405 28.47
PC Joe Chapman 6,147 23.64
GRN Justin Tilson 677 2.60
FCP David Hoffman 218 0.84
Share Button

Leave a Reply